Apple Thoughts - News & Reviews on all things Apple

Be sure to register in our forums and post your comments - we want to hear from you!


Android Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...





All posts tagged "review"


Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Thunderbolt, FireWire 800 or USB 2.0, Who Wins?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Other Apple Hardware" @ 02:00 AM

http://thenextweb.com/apple/2011/06...-faster-speeds/

"The folks over at Macworld got one of the new Pegasus R6 RAID systems in for testing and put it through its paces. The testing proved to be a huge win for Thunderbolt, which showed a massive improvement over FireWire 800 and just decimated USB 2.0."

That is a crazy jump in improvement over FireWire 800 and USB 2.0 doesn't even come close. You can see the full results at Macworld but from the chart above, there doesn't seem to be any question that Thunderbolt is the clear winner.


Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Apple's iOS 5 Split Keyboard

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 12:30 PM

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2011/0...reen-keyboards/

"When iOS 5 arrives this fall, the new split keyboard is one of the features that users will notice. After spending a week using the new split keyboard on the iPad 2, and comparing it to the split keyboard from SwiftKey on Android 3.0, I am a firm believer in doing it first doesn't always mean doing it best."

It works in portrait or landscape mode and you can move it wherever you need it on your screen, these two capabilities my friends make this keyboard so much better than what you can get on an Android device, or so says the author since I have yet to try it for myself. But it certainly makes sense, since by being able to move the keyboard you won't be blocking material you need to see while typing. And let's face it, sometimes you need to move to landscape mode (or switch back to portrait) for convenience and comfort.

His quote in the article pretty much says it all: "surprisingly, Apple is giving iPad users a lot of choice when it comes to the keyboard, and that translates into better user experience."


Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Macworld's First Look at Final Cut Pro X

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 12:00 PM

http://www.macworld.com/article/160...html#lsrc=fb_mw

"With the release of its hotly anticipated Final Cut Pro X (FCP X), Apple breaks new ground-not just with its flagship video editor's interface and underlying infrastructure-but with the whole mindset of what it means to be a working professional video editor."

This is a first look but it does hit the major points of Final Cut Pro X including workflow, rolling, magnetic timeline, clips, library and effects. According to Macworld, Final Cut Pro X is "has been re-designed from the ground up with a radically different approach-one that acknowledges and uses device and camera data in a manner that has never before been attempted in the video editing environment."

They also state this is the future of the way data streams from all devices will work in the future. If you use Final Cut Pro, it sounds like you need this version.


Monday, June 13, 2011

Perfect Photo Lives Up To It's Name, or Does It?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 10:42 AM

http://simple-reviews.com/2011/06/p...t=Google+Reader

"With many photography utilities apps to choose from, a new one challenges the competition. Perfect Photo is an amazing new app that let's you edit photos on your iPhone."

This app [affiliate link] seems like a pretty good photo app on the surface, and of course based on this review, with over 28 tools and effects to edit your photos. Even the example photos on iTunes look pretty good. However, in reading some of the latest user reviews it might have a few problems. So it is buyer beware on this one, until they get another update, but thought I'd post this since it has been getting some press lately. You can always try the free version [link] to see how it works for you, as the only difference is a few tools in the paid version such as red eye reduction. That seems like an essential tool to me though doesn't it?


Monday, March 14, 2011

So Just How Much Improvement in Performance Do You Get With the iPad 2?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 04:00 AM

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4216/...mp2-benchmarked

"Earlier this morning we published our first impressions on Apple's iPad 2, including analysis on camera quality and a dive into the architecture behind Apple's A5 SoC."

What they found was that the iPad 2 was indeed 50% faster than the A4 chip in the original iPad, but they also wanted to test the claim regarding GPU. Is the iPad 2 really 9x faster than the original? This is a pretty thorough investigation of the claim, and an interesting read. I won't spoil the surprise.


Tuesday, February 22, 2011

iGrill Reviewed

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 07:00 AM

http://www.appletell.com/apple/comm...etell+Appletell

"If you need any proof that the iOS devices have left the world of computer geekery and entered into a platform for "consumer electronics," you need look no further than the iGrill, a bluetooth-enabled cooking thermometer that has an iPhone app."

We talked about this previously, when it was first introduced but never had a review until now with AppleTell. The biggest drawback appears to be the price, since you can get several cheaper options that, when you get right down to it, do the same job, although not as high tech as the iGrill. So I guess if you want to pay for a bit of coolness factor while you grill your steaks, this is right up your alley.


Clamcase for iPad Reviewed

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 06:00 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/14/...rd-case-review/

"We know you've been on pins and needles since we cleared up some of the confusion regarding the Clamcase, but a review unit finally landed on our doorstep to put through the paces. If you need a refresher, this was one of the earliest iPad keyboard cases to be introduced, but has only started shipping recently after some manufacturing woes. We've had sometime to put this baby through the paces so read past the break for the lowdown."

It was interesting reading this review, as this product really piques my interest. Interesting to me was the fact that since this is a touch screen and works with touch, there is no mouse pad so it looks odd initially. That and the top is heavier than the bottom so sitting it on your lap may cause some problems when you need to touch the screen. I'm thinking if I go this route, why not just bring a laptop? The screen keyboard has never been a problem for me though, what are your thoughts?


Monday, February 21, 2011

An Amusing iPad 2 Spoof "Review"

Posted by Jason Dunn in "Apple Talk" @ 10:00 AM

http://www.businessinsider.com/ipad...2-review-2011-2

It goes off the deep end after the 4 minute 30 second mark, but overall this is quite clever and funny - I'm amazed the things this guy was willing to do with his expensive 27" iMac!


Monday, February 14, 2011

Consumer Reports Loves iPhone 4 Now, The Verizon One Anyway

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 05:00 AM

http://www.cultofmac.com/consumer-r...w+(Cult+of+Mac)

"Thanks to the massive headache of Antennagate, Consumer Reports famously felt that it could not recommend the iPhone 4 to its readers... an approbation that, as we all know, tanked Apple stock, prompted Cupertino to dump unsold iPhones by the millions into an Arizona landfill and ultimately led to Apple's enthusiastic embrace of Microsoft's Windows Phone 7 operating system."

Riiiiiiiight. All in jest of course, although the Consumer Reports article on the AT&T iPhone 4 did give the critics plenty of fodder. But they think with the internal changes found when iFixIt did the teardown that these problems have been corrected. Perhaps not according to this article. Overall I think the issue was overblown and to NOT recommend the iPhone 4 because of it was ridiculous, especially when it was shown that there were several other makes/models of cell phones that suffered the same problem. I'm with the author, it's all about the page views.


Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Apple's Macbook Air 13 (2010 Model): The Future of Laptops?

Posted by Jason Dunn in "Apple Laptops" @ 01:30 PM

This is my review video of the Macbook Air 13 (2010 model). This version has the 2.16 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce 320M GPU, Bluetooth, 802.11b/g/n WiFi. It has no CD/DVD drive. The unboxing video can be found here; I kept this laptop for the full two weeks before returning it to Apple. Returning it was a hard decision, because there were so many things I liked about the Macbook Air. Read more...


Monday, January 10, 2011

Mac App Store: Twitter for Mac, A First Look

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 09:00 AM

http://www.tuaw.com/2011/01/06/twit...0-a-first-look/

"The first Mac app I downloaded this morning after finishing the update to Mac OS X 10.6.6 was Twitter for Mac 2.0. This is the app formerly named Tweetie, and it's a free download from the Mac App Store."

This is still number two on the list of free apps in the Mac App Store, so there are quite a few out there that must have been waiting for this app as well. It works similar to the iOS version except that when you click on a link inside a tweet, it opens in your default browser instead of within the app. I downloaded this as well, and it works. Guess that is bottom line for me since I'm not really a power user of Twitter. If you are, what apps or programs do you use?


Wednesday, November 24, 2010

iSkin Duo Review for iPad from Appletell

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 03:00 AM

http://www.appletell.com/apple/comm...etell+Appletell

"iSkin has the iPod and iPhone down. We pretty much know that by now, but occasionally need to be reminded with products such as the Revo4 for iPhone 4. But how about the iPad? That's a lot of silicone, after all, making it harder to be so precise. But iPad users need not fret; iSkin has nailed it again."

These are on the upper end for prices I'm willing to pay for covers ($49.95 USD), but it does seem to offer pretty good protection for your iPad, plus gives you many options for colors. And it appears they have done some thinking for screen protection, since it has a slightly raised bezel on the front. What this means is you can set your iPad down face first on a table or counter and the screen won't actually make contact.


Friday, October 29, 2010

What Does Mossberg Think of the MacBook Airs?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 04:00 AM

http://www.appleinsider.com/article...experience.html

"Technology journalist Walt Mossberg has reviewed Apple's new MacBook Air notebooks, and has given both the 11-inch and 13-inch models high praise for offering the long battery life and instant-on capabilities found in the iPad."

The consensus among all the reviews I've seen is that this machine is very fast with the flash system it uses, and some have even said this can be a replacement for your primary computer. Walt Mossberg on the other hand, while he notes that unlike the past MacBook Air you can run seven or eight programs at once with the new ones, still thinks they are only replacements for light-duty users. What to buy, what to buy.


Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Macworld's Take on the MacBook Air

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 07:33 AM

http://www.macworld.com/article/155...html?lsrc=top_1

"You can forgive Steve Jobs for a bit of hyperbole when he's on stage introducing new products to an audience of thousands of people following along via a live video stream and countless liveblogs. 'It's like nothing we've ever created before,' Jobs said when introducing the new MacBook Air. 'We think it's the future of notebooks.'"

And while Macworld likes what Apple presented, they were not too wowed by the 13.3 inch MBA, saying it was basically an improved version of the original. But when it comes to the 11.6 inch version they were impressed, calling it the "most novel new Mac released since the Intel Mac era began." The most interesting piece of the review for me was the benchmark section, in which you can see that the flash storage really make a difference when it comes to the speed of the new MacBook Airs. Granted, these tests were against the previous versions using the Core 2 Duo (the newer MB 15-inch and 17-inch use the i5 and i7 processors) but it does show you what a difference the flash storage makes. The review is thorough and if you are considering a new laptop like I am, or just plain curious, this is good information.

If you are really curious, you can also read what MSNBC has to say about them, or what the "most beloved Mac pundit" Andy Ihnatko thinks. Tech Crunch even has an opinion on the MacBook Air.


Laptop Magazine Reviews the MacBook Air, "Almost Perfect"

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 05:30 AM

http://www.laptopmag.com/review/lap...ir-13-2010.aspx

"Apple's ultimate ultraportable combines a barely-there profile with a high-resolution display, instant-on functionality, and long battery life. It's as if the 13-inch MacBook Pro won The Biggest Loser."

You can really see why they say this too, since the MacBook Air is 1.5 pounds lighter, has enough processing power to supplant your primary computer, has a higher resolution than the 13-inch MacBook Pro and is FAST with it's flash storage. According to this review by Laptop Magazine, if you "want a mobile Mac this machine is almost perfect."

What isn't perfect for Laptop Magazine is that the MacBook Air 13-inch is too tall and deep for 13-inch laptop, the keyboard is not backlit and flash storage not designed to be upgraded. I really like my backlit keyboard and I think the ability to upgrade storage is definitely a hindrance for me. I've been thinking about getting a new laptop, leaning towards a MacBook Pro 15-inch, but after reading about this machine I'm back to pondering options again.


iLife '11 or Windows Live Essentials, Which is Better?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 04:59 AM

http://lifehacker.com/5673681/

"High-powered hardware and slick looks are nice, but computers should actually make things. Apple and Microsoft both offer software to organize photos, make movies, and enjoy your computer. We compared iLife and Windows Live Essentials head-to-head from a first-time home user's perspective."

Both Microsoft and Apple want you to go digital, and that is the goal of these two packages. iLife '11 comes with every new Mac (or you can upgrade for $49.00 USD), while Microsoft has chosen to make their Live Essentials a free download, mainly to streamline Windows 7 and make it "leaner and meaner." You can also get pieces of Live Essentials versus iLife '11, which comes as an entire package. You can't make a full comparison of these two offerings, since they only have two areas (photo and video handling) in which they compete, but this is a nice article showing exactly what you get with each software suite and the unique programs each has that you can't get anywhere else. The big thing for Microsoft, according to the author, is making it known to it's users that Live Essentials is out there, and it's free. Anyone that uses a Mac has heard of iLife '11 but Windows users may or may not know about what Microsoft is offering them.


Friday, August 27, 2010

So How Do You Like it After 100 Days Dan?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 05:00 AM

http://www.businessinsider.com/ipad...y-review-2010-8

"It has now been 100 days since my iPad 3G arrived. (And exactly four months since I first used an iPad in early April, and posted my thoughts about it.)"

And for the most part, Business Insider's Dan Frommer really likes his iPad. There are some things that annoy him, such as web sites that aren't designed for devices such as the iPad, but it has become his favorite computer. Speaking of annoyances, does it annoy anyone else about the Business Insider site that you have to click through each page? It really annoys me, but the article is worth the read to get his perspective on the iPad in my opinion.


Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Apple Mail 4.3 Reviewed

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 05:00 AM

http://www.macworld.com/reviews/pro...ew/mail_43.html

"The latest iteration of Apple's Mail client, like the OS it accompanies, seems little changed on the surface. Its greatest improvements lie under the hood, and while not all of them entirely live up to Apple's promises, the program on the whole remains dependably excellent."

The biggest change is the built-in support for Microsoft Exchange 2007, which makes it easier to work from home if you need that kind of access. And if your business has the autoconnect feature installed on its server, you can set it up using only your email and password. There are also some other features such as faster response times and a drag-and-drop feature for organizing your sidebar. Some minor stuff but good to see they are still working on it; it's simple but I like it.

Tags: software, review, mail, 4.3

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

XO Skins for iPhone 4

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 10:31 AM

http://xoskins.com/

I've used XO Skins since the iPhone 3G came out. In fact that XO Skin is still on that iPhone (my son uses it now) still providing protection. I've also got one on my recently retired 3GS, so I was happy to see they came out with a version for the iPhone 4. If you aren't familiar, XO Skins are a thin layer of polyurethane that provides protection to a wide variety of electronic devices, such as phones, laptops, GPS devices and much more. XO Skins makes the skins device specific, and pretty much covers any electronic device out there. Don't believe me? Well head on over to their product page and see for yourself. For the iPhone 4, they offer two types of protection: front screen only for $11.96 USD and front and back screens with side protection for $19.96 USD

Read more...


Wednesday, June 30, 2010

A Review of the iPhone 4

Posted by Michael Knutson in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 07:00 AM

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2010/0...n-the-iphone-4/

"Let’s start this review of the iPhone 4 by saying that after picking up the phone on Thursday in the middle of a rushed day of travel and work, not to mention waiting in line, I felt initially disappointed."

Image Credit: Apple

A nice review of the newiPhone 4. Interesting that the author's opinion changed somewhat after he stopped thinking of the new iPhone as revolutionary, and adapted his usage accordingly.


Featured Product
News Tip or Feedback?

Contact us

Other Apple Resources

All iOS News

iPhone Life

Thoughts Media Sites

Windows Phone Thoughts

Digital Home Thoughts

Zune Thoughts

Apple Thoughts

Android Thoughts

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...

News

Loading feed...

Sponsored links