Apple Thoughts - News & Reviews on all things Apple

Be sure to register in our forums and post your comments - we want to hear from you!

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

All posts tagged "review"

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Just Landed Keeps You on Time

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 01:00 AM

"We've all been there: Awaiting a loved one's arrival at the airport, only to discover that his/her flight is delayed. Never again fear such predicaments, because Just Landed has been cleared for landing on your iPhone."

Solid review from MacLife about this handy app.

Monday, July 9, 2012

A Pro Photographer Reviews the MacBook Pro Retina Display

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 02:00 AM

"It's been my experience, working with photographers all over the world at my workshops and seminars, that the vast majority use Mac laptops."

So it only makes sense that a pro review this right? Very thorough, and I especially like that he also provides information on the Thunderbolt drives that go with this wonderful machine. Well worth the read if you are thinking of picking one of these up. And even if you aren't, it's interesting reading.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Frakes Goes Over the MacBook Air

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 02:00 AM

"Believe it or not, it's been nearly four and a half years since Apple released the original MacBook Air. At the time, it was revolutionary in terms of its size and weight, but it also was slow, had little storage, had only a single USB port for expansion, and was very expensive-it started at $1799, and if you wanted solid-state storage, the price increased dramatically (by $999!)."

I had one of those early versions, and it was certainly slow. But oh how amazingly thin it was for it's time. In this article, Dan Frakes giving a thorough run through of the MacBook Air, which is well worth the read.

Monday, June 18, 2012

IGM Reviews the Apple Smart Case for iPad

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 03:00 AM

"The Smart Case builds on Apple's Smart Cover design, providing full protection for the iPad."

I have seen several critical reviews of the Smart Case for iPad, mostly complaining about the poor fit. After watching this video I'm not so sure they are correct as it sure looks like it fits nice to me! I may have to get one now, as the Otterbox case I'm using is a bit bulky for normal use. What are your thoughts?

MacBook Pro Retina Display Review From Engadget

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 01:00 AM

"Engadget was at WWDC and had the opportunity to spend some time with the next generation MacBook Pro. After a few days with the machine, Tim Stevens and company shared their thoughts about the Retina MacBook Pro in a recent review."

It raises the bar per Engadget, but you can read that for yourself over at their review.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Best iOS Calendar Alternative, Agenda, Updated

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 03:00 AM

"Agenda is a beautiful alternative to the iPhone and iPad's built-in Calendar app by the great folks at App Savvy."

This really is a great calendar app, much better than the calendar app that comes with the iPhone. I don't switch out of using too many of the apps that come with iOS, but for calendar I made the switch to Agenda and haven't looked back. It's very clean looking and makes finding information easy. But don't take my word for it, you can read the iMore review here, or visit The Brooks Review and check out his opinion on it.

Monday, May 14, 2012

Ars Technica Reviews Some Mac AntiVirus Apps

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 05:00 AM

"So Mac invulnerability to malware is a myth, at least according to security researchers from Kaspersky Lab. And although such a blunt statement may be a blow to the ego of some Mac users, it remains true."

You can be as careful as you possibly can and it still might get you. Ars looks at five virus protection apps for Mac that you may or may not want installed. I currently don't have an anti-virus program installed on my Mac, do you? What are your thoughts on virus protection for your Mac?

Monday, April 2, 2012

Consumer Reports Likes the iPad?

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 09:30 AM

"Consumer Reports, clearly moving on from whoring pageviews over heatgate, just planted the new iPad at the top of its recommended tablet chart."

I guess they are trying to get some goodwill back after jumping on the bandwagon with the supposed heat issue? Who knows, but you can read their review here.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Macenstein Reviews the Style iT 2

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 02:12 PM

"'If you see a Stylus, they blew it'. So said Steve Jobs when talking about competing companies' tablet and touch-phone offerings - and for the most part he's right."

And I tend to agree, and for the most part I don't need a stylus with my iPad. But I'm trying to go paperless and for taking notes with Notability, having a stylus makes it much easier. It doesn't hurt that this one also has a regular pen for those times you actually have to write on paper! What are your thoughts on using a stylus with the iPad? Or do you just use the old reliable finger?

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

iLounge Reviews the New iPad

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 03:00 AM

"Apple's first two iPads were barnstormers."

After being dismissed initially, something about the name being stupid and no connector ports, the consumer showed how much they did like them as evidenced by record sales and creating a market that Apple still owns. So iLounge takes a look at the new iPad and does a little comparing in this very thorough review. Definitely worth the read if you are considering purchasing or if you are on the fence. Even if you already committed and purchased the new iPad like me, you might find it an interesting read.

Friday, March 16, 2012

iMovie for iOS, a Review

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 11:30 AM

"iMovie is an excellent video editing application that is easy and fun to use, but are the new trailers really enough to take the spot as the best video editing app for the iPhone and iPad?"

At $4.99 USD [affiliate link], it's not a bad deal for a feature rich application like this, and the review backs that up. Detailed and broken down into sections, the review is a good one that does list a few cons with iMovie for iOS, such as not being able to sync iMovie with another iOS device or your Mac. But if you are on the go, it seems to be a pretty good option.

Monday, March 12, 2012

What's New With the Apple TV? A Few Important Things...

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 05:00 AM

"Apple released the expected software update for the second-generation Apple TV on Thursday. The update brings the second-gen Apple TV UI in line with the third-generation version introduced on March 7, bringing some fundamental changes to its interface and opening up Apple's options for adding more apps and content."

This is a great hands-on review by Ars Technica, of the updated Apple TV software released last Wednesday.

Sunday, March 11, 2012

The New iPad, What You Need to Know

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 03:04 PM

"With Apple's Wednesday introduction of the third-generation iPad, many of the questions people and pundits have spent the past few months obsessing over have been answered-but not all. We know it has a nicer screen, a faster processor, better cameras, 4G networking, and voice dictation. But even if you've read our live blog, chances are there are still bits of info you want to know. Here are all the details we've been able to dig up about Apple's newest tablet."

Macworld gives a nice rundown of what the new iPad is bringing to the table, an FAQ for potential buyers if you will. I know one thing for sure about the new iPad: my 32GB WiFi version will be delivered on March 16th. Anyone else pulling the trigger and picking up a new iPad? If so, what version and why? For me, based on experience with my 1st generation iPad, I have never missed having 3G on it. If I need connectivity, I just tether with my iPhone, but to be honest most of my usage is on WiFi. 32GB version might be a bit overkill for me, but I'd rather have too much than too little storage. Ok, now it's your turn!

Tags: hardware, review, ipad

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Ihnatko Reviews the iPhone 4S

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 03:00 AM

"I've been pondering a bunch of questions ever since seeing the iPhone 4S unveiled and then getting my hands on one. I'm not sure that any of them has puzzled me more than this one:

Has the world lost its damned mind?"

According to Andy the answer is yes! Read the review for an entertaining summation of the iPhone 4S pros and cons as only Andy Ihnatko can provide. Entertaining and informative.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

iTunes Match, A Review

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (OS X)" @ 09:00 AM

"Earlier today, Apple finally released iTunes Match, about one month later than the service was originally expected. Now that it is here, consider this our first look at Apple's highly-anticipated new product."

Here is a brief run through of how the service works, the main point being you have to update iTunes to 10.5.1 before you even get started. I don't have a huge amount of music, but for those that do, this might take some time to run before it is complete. I wonder how many will hit their data cap while using this service? Or is that even a concern?

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

In Depth Review of iOS 5

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Software (iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad)" @ 01:30 PM

"Apple's latest reference release of its mobile platform, iOS 5, isn't going to leave users wondering if they should upgrade. It's free, it has no real downsides, and has no competition among iPhone, iPod touch and IPad users. But here's a look at what's new and why it matters."

Now that iOS 5 has hit, it's not a bad idea to get a review of the features you will soon be using. This is a pretty informative quick read (only four pages) of information that will assist you in getting the most out of iOS 5. I haven't updated yet, so if you have, what features do you like best? Worst? Thoughts?

Jason Snell Runs Siri Through Her/It's/? Paces

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 10:30 AM

"In the video below, Jason Snell shows us the ins and outs of Siri, Apple's voice recognition feature which from the sound of it so far, may prove to be a killer software feature."

This feature may be what puts me over the edge since I'm on the fence about upgrading my iPhone 4. I still haven't decided, and I may try to wait in line to get one on Friday now that I've read some of the reviews. What are your thoughts on upgrading from an iPhone 4? Anything about the 4S that compels you to upgrade or are you just going to wait for the 5?

iPhone 4S Reviews? Yep, You Have Several Choices

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad" @ 09:36 AM

"Jim: I love you, Siri

Siri: Impossible

Jim: No really, I love you

Siri: I hope you don't say that to those other mobile phones, Jim"

And so begins Jim's experience with the new iPhone 4S. He isn't the only one with a review however, as they are starting to come out of the woodwork now that the review phones have hit the reviewers. David Pogue has one as does Macworld. If you want, you can even check out Walt Mossberg's review. Lots of info now about the iPhone 4S, so with all of this, are you going to be picking one up? If so, what type of phone is it replacing?

Friday, September 23, 2011

Apple's Thunderbolt Display, A Couple of Reviews

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Other Apple Hardware" @ 12:46 PM

"From most angles, Apple's new 27-inch Thunderbolt Display looks just like the 27-inch LED Cinema Display released last year. However, if you take a closer look at what the Thunderbolt Display has to offer, you'll find a display that's ideal for owners of the Thunderbolt-equipped MacBook Air."

This isn't the only review of the new display, as AnandTech also has a pretty in-depth one available here. As I've said before on these pages, this is definitely on my want list and once I get a new MacBook Air with Thunderbolt it will be my next purchase. 4 out of 5 mice with this review from MacWorld, which is brief and to the point, but I kind of like that.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Only Out a Day and Already 5 Stars for the 13-Inch MacBook Air

Posted by Jeff Campbell in "Apple Laptops" @ 06:30 PM

"'It's kind of hard to improve on a 4.5-star rating. And yet Apple's new 13-inch MacBook Air (starting at $1,299, $1,599 as configured) is better than its predecessor in some key ways,' Mark Spoonauer reports for Laptop Magazine."

Well this didn't take long, saying that "when you combine a sleek ultraportable design with a great display and touchpad then nearly double the performance-without sacrificing battery life-you're left with a winner." I really do love these laptops (once they put in the SSD that is), but can't everything be improved at some level? Then again, when this beauty outperforms the MacBook Pro, what other rating can you give it?

Featured Product
News Tip or Feedback?

Contact us

Other Apple Resources

All iOS News

iPhone Life

Thoughts Media Sites

Windows Phone Thoughts

Digital Home Thoughts

Zune Thoughts

Apple Thoughts

Android Thoughts

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...


Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...


Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...


Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...


Loading feed...

Reviews & Articles

Loading feed...


Loading feed...

Sponsored links